Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll is the pen name of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson who was born January 27, 1832 in Daresbury, Cheshire, England. He was the third of eleven children and at a young age he kept himself and his family entertained with magic tricks, puppet shows, and writing poetry for his homemade newspapers.

He entered Rugby School in 1846, and then attended Christ Church College, Oxford where he studied math and writing. He graduated in 1854 but remained at the college to teach. During his years of teaching he became an ordained deacon, but never preached. He was also interested in photography, using mostly children for his models, including a girl named Alice Liddell who would later be the main character of the book Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

Around 1880 Lewis gave up photography in order to become more focused on his writing. Lewis had an interesting wit and logic which can be seen in his writings, and much of his philosophy comes the rules of games and playing them.

Lewis Carroll wrote many books, both fiction and non. Some of his works include:

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865)
An Elementary Treatise on Determinants (1867)
Phantasmagoria and Other Poems (1869)
Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Saw There (1872)
The Hunting of the Snark: An Agony in Eight Fits (1876)
Euclid and His Modern Rivals (1879)
Rhyme? And Reason? (1883)
A Tangled Tale (1885)
Curiosa Mathematica (1888)
Sylvie and Bruno (1889)

Lewis Carroll died in Guildford, Surrey, on January 14, 1898.

lewiscarroll.org - The Lewis Carroll Society of North America.